Question Camera Comparison Question -

Aug 27, 2023
Hey y'all -

I'm looking at new phones, and have a question about cameras that I'm hoping you can help with.

Looking at the side by side reviews from the web page - The OnePlus Nord N30 clearly doesn't take as good of pictures as the Google Pixel 7A. Yet, with the N30 has a 108mp camera sensor and the &a has "only" 64 camera sensor.
Is it reasonable to assume that using the Google Camera App (to leverage Google's AI processing) on the N30 would give at least comparable pictures to the 7A? Would they be better?

I'm just a simple unfrozen caveman geologist - but more pixels on the sensor + the same software should give better pictures, right? Or am I missing something obvious?

Along that line, the Motorola Edge Plus, OnePlus 11, Zenfone 10 and Pixel 7 pro all have 50 mp main cameras. In the Edge Plus review, the only knock seems to be the camera performance. "Ultimately, I'd have a hard time picking Motorola's phone over the Galaxy S23 Plus, Pixel 7 Pro or even the OnePlus 11, as those phones offer cameras that perform a little bit more consistently than the ones on the Motorola Edge Plus."
Could that be alleviated with using the Google Camera App?

Thanks in advance, for the input.

USAFRet

Illustrious
You can't compare raw megapixel numbers in hopes of determining which camera is better.

How do they arrive at that mp value?
Merging multiple images from multiple lenses?
All from one lens?
Lens type and material?
What software is doing this?
etc, etc.

I have a Fuji X-T1 mirrorless camera, 16MP. Now 9 years old.
I'll bet it takes better pics than either of those phones.

Now, I know its not fair comparing a real camera to the phone cameras. But that was just to show that the megapixel number is not the sole determinant.

Aug 27, 2023
You can't compare raw megapixel numbers in hopes of determining which camera is better.

How do they arrive at that mp value?
Merging multiple images from multiple lenses?