Can I upgrade my Toshiba Satellite's graphics?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natos

Estimable
Mar 2, 2014
So about a year ago, I bought a Toshiba Satellite L955-S5370 laptop, and it has a Core i5-3317U. I have not opened the laptop in fear of breaking something, as I have very little experience with tinkering with the insides of laptops. I am now starting to realize that I need more graphics power than the Intel HD Graphics 4000 unit the laptop currently has can offer, and my CPU gets extremely hot when I run any strenuous task. So I looked at the market of mobile graphics cards.

Before I consider anything, I would like to know if my laptop can use a dedicated graphics card, and of it can, I would like to know of any limitations so that I buy the right card the first time.

If the graphics card can be upgraded, I have about $70 to spend on a card.

Solution
no to the GPU & no to what Turkey3_scratch is suggesting that is upgrading the CPU. the i5-3317U uses a BGA socket, so you're limited to upgrading the RAM & HDD/SSD

http://www.techpowerup.com/cpudb/1074/core-i5-3317u.html

the only other solution really is an external GPU, though being a modern laptop, i doubt it has an express card slot, leaving you with the mini-PCIe, usually accommodated by the wifi adapter. unless this laptop is more of a replacement desktop i.e. you don't take it around with you a lot, this means it won't actually be portable no more. add in the cost/performance problem, and you're looking at spending a whole lot of cash on a ViDock + GTX780 just to get a GPU that performs as well as a GTX760. the cheaper DIY...

Kingfury4

Honorable
Dec 27, 2012
Most laptops can't have dedicated graphics cards installed into them. And I can't really find anything that says your laptop allows a dedicated GPU. So I'm going to say it's a no go.

turkey3_scratch

Estimable
Herald
Jul 15, 2014