connecting an old record player to marshall speaker

katstein17

Estimable
Dec 10, 2014
Hello,

I appreciate any and all feedback as I have limited knowledge in electronics! I had an orthophonic high fidelity rca victor record player tuned up for my husband. It has a built in speaker in it and works great, but I brought a marshall stanmore speaker in thinking it would enhance the sound. Well, the cord that came with the speaker does not fit the connector on the record player. There is only one outlet on the record unit, so I didn't know if there was a different cord I could buy that would connect the record player to the speaker. Thanks again for reading and offering any advice!!

Solution

Depending on the model of the RCA Victor, it could have a RCA output plug(one for mono, two for stereo). Near the plug it might say "external speaker". If it has only one output, get a RCA "Y" cable. If it has 2 putputs, just run the RCA cables into the Marshall speakers. To tell you the truth though, I don't really think that speaker will improve the sound. Those RCA Victors have some good speakers in them.

katstein17

Estimable
Dec 10, 2014
Yes, on the back of the unit, the plug reads, "stereo phonic sound/ auxiliary speakers/tape recorder".I appreciate you taking the time out to read my post and respond. I will look for an RCA Y cable and see if that does the trick! I agree with you, the sound is already nice...I guess I am just curious to see what it sounds like with a modern speaker:) Thank you so much.

katstein17

Estimable
Dec 10, 2014
thee_prisoner, since the 3.5mm plug did not fit into the record player (the cord that came with the speaker), would you happen to know what size I should look for with the RCA Y cable?