Dell Inspiron 13 7373 i5-8250u w/3 year protection plan or Dell XPS 13 i7-8550u for $120 more?

Korbi

Honorable
Jun 12, 2013
Hello all, so let me give a little background on my situation. I am a college student, huge gamer and love tech. I have a pretty sweet gaming rig and a MacBook Pro 15 inch, so I have a pretty powerful setup. I have used and preferred to do my programming/work on macOS, but I have been getting a little tired of carrying a 15 inch laptop around and so I was searching for something a little smaller. I was looking in the 11inch range, and I was interested in a MacBook with an i5/M3 and 256GB, but I dont have $1300. I have owned a MacBook M3 before, I know the processor isn't great, but when I owned it I loved it and got the job done, for a 2lb laptop with macOS. And unfortunately, I couldn't find a really powerful 11 inch that wasn't $400 with a celeron or M3 on windows, so I thought of looking at 13 inches.

So, with working at a retail electronics store and getting an employee discount, I thought I would take a look at our computer deals at the time. My goal was to get a nice PC, with fast storage, for $600-900. So we had the Dell Inspiron i7373 i5-8250u, 256GB SSD, and 8GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz for $150 off, from $849 to $699. To me this was a sick deal, with how powerful and improved the new low power i5's are with 4 cores. So I bought it, and with my employee discount, I was able to get a 3 year accidental protection plan that covers water spills and drops. So after taxes, everything turned out to be $840, which I was fine with especially how quick the laptop is and how sleek it is.