double ^ bug : How to remove what might be Bugbear virus ? (Or any other idea)

Phoenixton

Estimable
Jun 3, 2015
Hey guys !

Sorry to bother but I've realized I might have a virus on my computer :

Whenever I try to use the ^ sign on a letter (in French, it's quite common, like this ê), the computer displays instead :

^^

right away.

Google is telling me it might be a virus, the BugBear one, the problem is :

I have used malwarebytes, I have installed Bullgard and used it, tried CCleaner, I even used the mc coffee 'solution' provided here : http://home.mcafee.com/virusinfo/SpecialVirusRemovalTool.aspx?viruskey=bugbear

and NOTHING worked.

So here I am, kind of stuck, not knowing what I should do. Is it a dangerous stuff ? I'm kind of new to this. Is it possible to remove it ? If yes, how ?

Note that I do not know for sure if it is the BugBear virus, but I did check that my keyboard wasn't broken or anything. The same happens with another keyboard.

Please tell me if you need any other detail. I realize the question has already been asked, but the topics I found about it didn't help me.

Thanks a lot,

Phoenixton

Estimable
Jun 3, 2015
Alabalcho --> First of all, thanks for your quick answer. My windows is in French, my keyboard in AZERTY (the common one in France), and I'm using Windows 10. It does happen everywhere with the exception (and I'm not certain it's relevant) of my session password's input form.

To be honest, and to answer Someone Somewhere, I don't think I'm making a mistake. It might not be a virus but I still know that my keyboard was handling the ^ the right way a week ago. I don't think my keyboard is set to the wrong layout as everything else is working perfectly.

As for the virus, as said before, I don't know if it's believable to catch an old virus, I'm no expert, but I still know there is a problem right now.

Thanks already for your quick answers, and hoping to hear more of you !