First time laptop buyer for college

jai1928

Honorable
Feb 20, 2012
I'll start this off by saying I'm going to be a college freshmen and this is my first time buying a laptop so I don't know a lot
What is your budget?
1,000-1300
2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
15-17 preferablely 17
3. What screen resolution do you want?
I'm not sure I want to play games on it but I don't really care as long as the game doesnt look like I'm playing on a 3 year old system
4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
I guess a desktop replacement
5. How much battery life do you need?
Decent battery life 6 hours
6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?
I would like to play games. Mostly mmo and some rts i would like something that could play star craft and wow id like to be able to play on medium to high
7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)
I'm going to be a pre med student so I'm not really sure what features I would need.
8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?
Again not sure. But id like to play games and its for school work also so decent amount of space would be nice
9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.
No sites
10. How long do you want to keep your laptop?
2 years at the least
11. What kind of Optical drive do you need? DVD ROM/Writer,Bluray ROM/Writer,Etc ?
umm I would be watching movies on it but I don't need a bluray player or anything just somethig that could play normal run of the mill dvds.
12. Please tell us about the brands that you prefer to buy from them and the brands that you don't like and explain the reasons.
No Toshiba please a lot of family members have had trouble with them
13. What country do you live in?
USA
14. Please tell us any additional information if needed.