(Help!) I Need a New Laptop for Entertaining and Productivity Purposes.

NewtonDisciple

Estimable
Mar 15, 2015
Hey guys, I am looking forward to replace my 3 year old 15 inch laptop with a more portable yet powerful machine, and I was wondering if you guys could give my a hand on my quest to find the perfect laptop.

Background Information about Me:

I am currently a college student, majoring in a engineering program at a community college, but I am currently working on my lower division courses before I transfer. You know, one calculus class, a physics or chemistry class, and a third class that the UC system forces us to take, usually in the liberal arts department which tends to be based mostly on research or essay typing. On my spare type I tend to play video games such as, Skyrim, L4D, BF3 on medium/low settings, and a couple of other similar titles on my desktop computer at home. I also work with 3D content in Auto CAD, or practice programming, as I am planning to double majoring in programming as well.

My Criteria:

1) A Portable laptop (Under 5 pounds).
2) The screen must be less than 14 inches.
3) Back-lit keyboard is a must have.
4) At least 6 hours of battery life per charge, based on my daily use, which is mentioned in the following point.
5) Must be able to handle multitasking:15 tabs open at the same time which tend to be mostly plain text with a few flash content, 1 spreadsheet, at least two PDF documents open at the same time, and 2 to 3 word documents open at the same time on the daily basis. I do not do gaming, Auto CAD, or programming in my current laptop. For those tasks I use my desktop computer at home, which is why I come to you guys in order to bridge the both the productivity and entertaining worlds together with this laptop.