juniorotty

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2008
Considering I still have a 17" CRT TV, I really do know little about the new technologies with TV's.

I have some general knowledge but I would like you to recommend me a TV.

First of all it has to be HD. Is HD built in to most? Are blue ray players in some? How much do these generally cost?

Is it better to get a LCD TV or a PLASMA? Which lasts longer? Which consumes more power? Which has a clearer picture?

When they give specifics of TV's what should I be looking for?

I know I could be getting a lot of this information of the internet, but many people are knowledgable on these forums and have helped me before with my problems.

I am looking at the price range of $1500? I am not looking to spend much more then 1.5k and definately no more then $2000.

x Steel x

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2008
Every single Flat Screen is HD Compatible. However you need a high-definition source; be it a blueray player, cable box or satellite box with an HD broadcast. All blueray players are sold separately and do not come with the purchase of a new TV. Blueplayers are coming down in price currently, you can head over to Circuit City and pick up a player for about $299.99 now while they are still on sale.

LCD TV’s are Liquid Crystal Display. TV’s that provide a brighter display, truer white colors, and are great for brighter rooms. LCD’s have plastic screens and have an anti-glare to provide as little as of a reflection in bright rooms. LCD’s typically last 60,000 hours (about 8 years).