I’ve been building PCs for 20 years — trust me, buy a gaming laptop instead

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 18, 2023
I'm almost in the same boat...a few years difference, decided at my 40th two years ago to ditch the desktop as gaming laptops have sufficient performance to really replace the desktop now. The premium does also come from built in screen and battery backup (wouldn't try to game off the battery....) They are also getting better with driver support, the one thing that laptops have always suffered from is needing your vendor to update drivers rather than being able to use AMD or NVIDIA generic drivers. When I am ready for the next upgrade will probably get something that supports an egpu using oculink or xg mobile.

russell_john

Honorable
Mar 25, 2018
All you probably need to do is go into your BIOS and point it at the boot drive again. It likely got messed up because you tried to install a CPU it had no clue existed because you didn't update the BIOS before hand something you should always do before install a new CPU. Then after you get it to boot up again go grab the latest BIOS, flash it and then install your new CPU. You may even have a motherboard where you don't even need a CPU installed to flash a new BIOS. The manual should tell you if it has that feature.

If you don't understand any of the above then yeah you should just stick to laptops and pre-builts

AG2

Jan 7, 2023