I need help choosing a computer for school.

Status
Not open for further replies.

xanadu02

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2011
Hello, I'm trying to decide on a computer for school. I recently built a desktop that fits my needs, but will be living in France for my final year. As I cannot take the desktop with me I will need a laptop. I am an architecture student so the computer will need to be able to run Autodesk software smoothly as well as Programs such as photoshop and anything else I may need to run.

I seem to have narrowed my search slightly, but don't want to pay for unnecessary features.

1. Macbook Pro 15" $2100

2.2GHz quad-core
Intel Core i7
4GB 1333MHz
750GB 5400-rpm1
Intel HD Graphics 3000
AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 1GB GDDR5

A friend of mine recommended this computer touting it as the "most balanced" computer on the market currently. I've never owned a mac, but am starting to consider it. I checked them out and the customer service is impeccable and they have homogenized stores globally. Not only that I really like the one piece aluminum body which coupled with the new lion OS-X should make the computer last for years. The only problem is the price which seems exorbitant even for such a fine machine.

2. Alienware M14x $1500

Intel® Core™ i7 2630QM 2.0GHz (2.9GHz w/Turbo Boost, 6MB Cache)
Intel® Advanced-N WiFi Link 6250 a/g/n 2x2 MIMO Technology with WiMax
500GB 7200RPM SATA 3Gb/s
8GB Dual Channel DDR3 at 1600MHz
3.0GB DDR3 NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 555M using NVIDIA Optimus™ technology

This computer seems pretty good. I haven't had the chance to play around with an alienware yet so I don't really know what kind of durability they have. (i really like that one piece aluminum body :/) admittedly, most of the time i use the computer I will probably be indoors or on a train. It will most likely travel with me every day so needs to be somewhat durable.)

3. Something less expensive.