Laptop Overheats When Pluged In...

Jory__

Commendable
Nov 3, 2016
I've been building computers for almost 20 years, not laptops, the other day my laptop started lagging, The bottom was super hot and literally everything I did had a delay even scrolling through browsing, initially I thought it was dust so I took it all apart and cleaned it out, that didn't work so I figured the laptop is going on 5 years now, it could be the thermal paste so I ripped it all apart again and re-did the paste, put it all back together and still it was capping out at 90degrees from startup. For whatever reason I had Open Hardware Monitor open and I took off the power adapter and immediatley the heat started dropping, with it unplugged I can get around 73C with no problems running applications ect. I checked the power settings, I'm running it in full power both with and without the power adapter so that wouldn't cause the issue. I don't see any kinks or tears in the cord, I take good care of my stuff so could the power cord just be doing something here or is there something else that could be causing me an issue?

Laptop is a Samsung NP700Z5
Intel i7-3635QM
Nvidia GT640M
8GB RAM

Thanks in advance,

Ironsounds

Distinguished
Hello... Fans are a Mechanical device that can wear out, slow down etc...

Typically without the Power cord, you could be running the GPU/CPU at a reduced power/freq setting... verify your Operational Freqs (gpu-z, Cpu-z, ?) to see if this happening between those two power situations.

The charging circuit/battery could be causing the additional heat problem too... do you see any obvious circuit board discoloring around that area or other areas? B /

Jory__

Commendable
Nov 3, 2016

I didn't see any discoloration anywhere, at least nothing abnormal. I will take it apart again tonight and take a look.

Intel HD
GPU Clock - 650Mhz
Default Clock - 650Mhz

GT 640M
GPU Clock - 645Mhz
Default Clock - 645Mhz

CPU Core -

2396.00 Multiplier x 24