Lenovo x120e - Worth Upgrading?

SilverRaven

Estimable
Jul 6, 2015
Hi. I have been gifted a lightly-used Lenovo x120e, 64 bit, with the E240 processor. It was super slow, the screen behaved oddly and it would crash often. It now has 6gb of RAM and I cleaned it up (disk defrag, removal of bloatware, reinstall of drivers etc). The extra 4gb of RAM and other work made it reliable and a little faster but it is no speed demon (WEI of 2.5 because of processor). Total cost so far ... about $50 CDN (and that $50 worth of RAM can be reinstalled in another machine later). I am using the x120e as my portable backup machine (I'm a writer, my main computer is heavy and aging) and for casual browsing/emails/social media. No games or video watching. Bottom line -- it's just okay. I love the keyboard and size but the slow loading of websites isn't fun. Haven't tried major editing/writing yet. Here's my question ... do I drop in an SSD to pick up performance a bit (cost about $150 CDN for the SSD I have in mind) or do I grit my teeth and save my cash? I can live with the slow boot up times but will an SSD improve overall performance? If I didn't love the keyboard I wouldn't ask. I just wish it was a little snappier and if $150 would make a noticeable difference I would do it. All advice welcome. Thank you.

Solution
A SSD can make the laptop feel more responsive, but that only applies to when you are loading a program or data from the SSD itself, such as booting up the laptop. It will not help render webpages faster.

Yes, ThinkPad keyboards are rated as amongst the best (if not the best) when it comes to laptops.
A SSD can make the laptop feel more responsive, but that only applies to when you are loading a program or data from the SSD itself, such as booting up the laptop. It will not help render webpages faster.

Yes, ThinkPad keyboards are rated as amongst the best (if not the best) when it comes to laptops.

Solution