Looking for a good quality beginner record player

Status
Not open for further replies.

Acidophilus

Distinguished
Dec 3, 2008
For Christmas, my parents are offering to buy me a record player if I pick one out. I have a small collection of vinyl, but I am looking to expand my collection and use them regularly. The thing is, I have no experience with purchasing the actual record player. Does anyone have suggestions as to a good-quality beginner's record player, in the $100 to $200 range? I am by no means an audiophile, but I would prefer something with good sound that will not damage the records I have.

I am also by no means a techie, so I don't know how a turntable/preamp setup is arranged. If someone could also shed some light on that as well I would be grateful.

Your price range is very limiting for something decent. All of the new tables in that range are built very badly, are unreliable & sound awful. A DJ table will not sound as good as an audiophile belt drive unit. Fully manual will usually sound better and be more reliable.

The phono cartridge puts out less than a CD player so it requires additional amplification and RIAA equilization to play back which is why you need a phono preamp/equilizer somewhere in your system. It can be in your stereo itself, an outboard box, or built into the turntable but you have to have it somewhere. If it is outboard the turntable connects to it and it connects to any input on your system (say tape, aux, or vcr)Some phono preamps also have USB outputs which are great for ripping or sampling LPs

I would suggest a used table would be the best bang for the buck.
Check out any local TV/Stereo repair shops. They may have something that you can afford and it will have been checked out. A used table would be a better investment although you may need to replace the phono cartridge, stylus (needle) and/or belt. An outboard phone preamp would probably run about $50 and up.

G