Soumodeep Saha

Estimable
Nov 12, 2014
Hi , I am a Computer Science student , I want to buy a laptop , basically for reading , writing , programming , Internet browsing and few movies and music . Please suggest me whether i should go for macbook air or pro .

Solution
The Mac is able to handle files larger than 4 GB. If you're wanting to transfer 4 GB files or larger all you have to do is convert the USB stick to exFAT format instead of FAT32 or NTFS which the macs really can't handle.

If you're gonna be getting a newer desktop anyways. I would suggest go with the MacBook Air since you're going to be taking it with you a lot, light, and longer battery life will be important to you. From the things you do you'll hardly stress the laptop.

Warukyure

Estimable
Which pro are you considering? The base Pro with the i5, 4 GB RAM, Optical drive, 500 GB HDD? or the Retina Pros?

Is this going to be your main computer or do you have another computer with more power for heavier tasks?

There are much better options for the price you're willing to pay for an apple, but if you're for sure set on apple then if its going to be your main computer get the MacBook Pro. The Base model has a decently powered i5, and it has more internal storage compared to the other models if you want to download your music and movies instead of streaming. Otherwise the retina macbook pros have a really nice screen, have the newer more efficient i5s and have 8 GB of RAM, downside is they only come with 128 GB flash to start with.