Solved! Need suggestions for buying new laptop macbook vs dell xps

Sep 22, 2021
Hi everyone,

I am a software engineer. I am buying a new laptop for recording videos/screencasts, video editing, heavy browsing, software development ( assume using heavy IDEs like jetbrains, vscode, and running Docker, k8s, etc...) with an excellent battery backup of at least 8-10 hours.

I currently have MacBook pro 2015 model 2.2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB graphics. But, the laptop gets stuck when I record using OBS studio. I cannot do heavy work on it.

So, I am buying a new laptop and considered few options. Can anyone tell me which is a good option?

Dell XPS 15

https://www.dell.com/en-in/shop/laptops-2-in-1-pcs/xps-15-laptop/spd/xps-15-9500-laptop/d560038win9s

10th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-10750H (12MB Cache, up to 5.0 GHz, 6 cores),
Windows 10 Home 64-bit English, NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1650 Ti 4GB GDDR6, 32GB DDR4-2933MHz, 2x16G, 1 TB SSD

There's a similar XPS 15 but with RAM 16 GB. I feel I need 32 GB RAM. I may be wrong

Apple 13-inch Macbook Pro M1

M1 chip with 8‑core CPU, 8-core GPU, and 16-core Neural, 16 GB RAM, 256GB SSD

https://www.apple.com/in/shop/buy-m...-m1-chip-with-8-core-cpu-and-7-core-gpu-256gb

Apple 16-inch Macbook Pro

2.6GHz 6-core 9th-generation Intel Core i7 processor, Turbo Boost up to 4.5GHz, 32GB DDR4 memory, AMD Radeon Pro 5300M with 4GB of GDDR6 memory, 512GB SSD storage

I know that M1 Mac gives good battery backup, but my only concern is the performance. Especially with screen recording and running heavy applications like docker and IDEs, I am afraid if it gives a good performance. Can anyone tell me about it?

Also, M1 Mac supports only 16 GB RAM, I am not sure would I need 32?

If I go with Dell XPS vs Apple 16-inch MacBook, which one should I pick?

Solution