Solved! Needing Engineering laptop

Spryguy87

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2010
Hello,
I am stating as a mechanical engineering major this fall and will need a laptop by the spring semester that can run MS Office, MATHLAB, Mathcad and Autocad SIMULTANEOUSLY...Autocad may not HAVE to be operating while the others are, but it is suggested. I don't care about screen size, but would like actual battery life of at least 1.5hrs under sustained high load. I am a desktop builder, so i need some help with laptop suggestions. I would really like to keep the price as low as possible and don't think i can afford more than $1000. I do like to partake in (REALLY) light gaming on my laptop:
AMD Turion TL-56 1.8GHz
2MB DDR2 667MHz
Radeon Xpress 1100
Windows Vista
60GB HDD

If my current laptop is sufficient for the tasks needed (which i doubt), I have no problems continuing using it.

I would just do it on my desktop, but the department requires that i have a laptop capable of running the programs in the classroom.

Many thanks for your help.

Solution
I would not go for a netbook. The laptop you have now will be probably faster. All of the programs you are running require large screens to be usable, even if you don't need to run autocad on it.

If you want to keep costs down, try this. Max out your laptop with RAM, probably 4 gig. If your laptop has a SATA hard drive, see if you can swing the cost of a new SSD, that will make a big jump in performace with your same hardware. If not, see if you can get a new regular drive, 7200 rpm maybe, I do think they make laptop drives with that speed. Should be almost 1/2 the cost of the SSD, but be quite a bit faster than your older drive.

Try your stuff on that, if you find issues, then look for another system.

Spryguy87

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2010