New Laptop vs my old 2010 one - is it really an upgrade?

martinsboh

Commendable
Oct 10, 2016
Hi everybody,

I'm afraid that my old notebook - almost 7 years old - is going soon to rest. Several problems are slowing facing (very slow, blue screens, Fan always 100% although dusted) and I was thinking about buying a new one. I was giving a small look at what the market offers nowadays and I remained kind of surprised: at the first sight (please, be patient, I'm not really an expert) it seems that the components are "almost" the same of new actually sold ones. Is it possible?

Actually I'm running a Sony VAIO Eb1s1e, whose components are:
a Intel i5 processor
4gb ram dd3
500gb hd
a 15" monitor with resolution 1366x768

that (I repeat, at the first sight) seems not to be that different from what I could buy today with 400€ . But then my question is: in what are the notebooks in these 6 years improved? are they lighter/battery or something like this? I would have expected an abyss between the new generation of notebooks and my prehistoric one

orlbuckeye

Distinguished
Well each generation of i series processor get more energy efficient, has better integrated graphics and runs cooler. 8 gb of ram can make a big difference. Also SSD's are used in system alot more than 7 years ago. Today the genre with the increasing number is the convertible 2-in-1 pc's. They are going lighter and more touch friendly and even pens. The if you want a gaming machine the discrete graphics cards are way more powerful alot have gone above the 1920 x 1080 screens to ultra Hi Def. Some gaming machines allow you to connect an external amplifier that you can use a desktop GP. USB standard has moved from USB2 to USb3 plus other even faster ports. Wifi has moved from 802.11 N to 802.11 AC. The clock speeds haven't increased alot but that's because it's not needed as much.

martinsboh

Commendable
Oct 10, 2016