Solved! New System Need Help

Deputydog32

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2010
I'm new to this sight and new to high tech electronic products. I just bought a 46" Toshiba TV and a Samsung 1000 watt surround sound with a blu ray dvd player. I need to know how many HDMI cables I need to buy. Do I need 1 for the TV/ dish network box, 1 for surround sound and 1 for the blu ray player? I do have HD programming for the TV.

Solution
You will definitely want HDMI from Bluray to receiver and receiver to TV, 2 so far.

But you will also have to make a decision on your TV viewing. Do you want to involve the receiver when watching tv all the time like when watching the news or a gameshow or just for the cool HD shows where you want the good sound/video?

If you want to use the receiver at all times then you only need one more HDMI cable from STB to receiver.

But if you are like me I don't need 120Watt surround sound to watch the news, etc so I use component video and S/PDIF from STB to TV, and an HDMI to receiver so for normal everyday viewing I put the TV to Input 2 where the component/fiber optic is and for big sports and HD content I turn on the receiver and...

Supe_

Distinguished
Sep 2, 2009
You will definitely want HDMI from Bluray to receiver and receiver to TV, 2 so far.

But you will also have to make a decision on your TV viewing. Do you want to involve the receiver when watching tv all the time like when watching the news or a gameshow or just for the cool HD shows where you want the good sound/video?

If you want to use the receiver at all times then you only need one more HDMI cable from STB to receiver.

But if you are like me I don't need 120Watt surround sound to watch the news, etc so I use component video and S/PDIF from STB to TV, and an HDMI to receiver so for normal everyday viewing I put the TV to Input 2 where the component/fiber optic is and for big sports and HD content I turn on the receiver and use HDMI input 6 and mute the TV.

So to tie this all up.