Samsung 5500 blu ray

mring16

Honorable
May 13, 2013
I boughe a new blu ray last week and it will not play on my bluray. Any help as I am new at this.
I also have a problem getting the audio from the tv to the home theate speakers. I have an HDMI cable connected to the tv and blu ray. It plays video and bluray fine, but I cant get normal television on the speakers. The tv is a kogan Thanks

bigpinkdragon286

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2012
The Samsung 5500 Blu-ray player looks to be a couple of years old by now. Unfortunately for home users, Hollywood decides to update newer movies with newer encryption needed to watch those movies, and older players are left unable to play back newer movies as a result. A great example are all of those who bought a Blu-ray player at the same time Avatar was released to Blu-ray, just to find out a brand new movie wouldn't work in many brand new, off the shelf players.

The solution is to update the firmware on your Blu-ray player, if it is determined that is the cause of your difficulty. That will involve contacting Samsung, or navigating to their website, and in the end you will end up with a disc that you insert into your player, which will automatically update the firmware for you.

The most current firmware for the BD-C5500 should be here, and appears to be dated May 08, 2013:

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/BD-C5500/XAA

Be aware that an unsuccessful update of your firmware can render your Blu-ray player useless.

mring16

Honorable
May 13, 2013

mring16

Honorable
May 13, 2013

Hi
Thanks for that. You mean that I cannot reverse the firmware once it is updated, and I will be worse off than now?

mring16

bigpinkdragon286

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2012