Server Costs of Running AR Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scott_171

Prominent
May 22, 2017
I am new to AR so excuse newbie question

Does anyone have a rough guideline about the potential costs of running a cloud server with AR content for a large body of gamers?

Solution
That is a really vague question, as most things involved in computers involve technical details.
It would be like, "What does a gaming PC cost?", and the reply would be, "That depends on what kind of gaming you want to do."

For example, "AR Content for a large body of gamers", to me that sounds like you want to know what Nintendo pays to host Pokemon Go at various times in the lifecycle.

A quick google search poses no results, except.. "It's complicated".
You are talking about server processing, response, and ISP time. Is there a server admin forum, because you'd be better off asking somebody who is in the cloud industry on server performance / cost and hosting solutions.

BUT WAIT!
I found an answer...

Tri23

Respectable
May 31, 2016
That is a really vague question, as most things involved in computers involve technical details.
It would be like, "What does a gaming PC cost?", and the reply would be, "That depends on what kind of gaming you want to do."

For example, "AR Content for a large body of gamers", to me that sounds like you want to know what Nintendo pays to host Pokemon Go at various times in the lifecycle.

A quick google search poses no results, except.. "It's complicated".
You are talking about server processing, response, and ISP time. Is there a server admin forum, because you'd be better off asking somebody who is in the cloud industry on server performance / cost and hosting solutions.

BUT WAIT!
I found an answer!!!

https://www.rackspace.com/en-us/calculator

Insert what you need, and it will spit out an estimated price. :)

Solution

bit_user

Distinguished
Herald
Jan 20, 2010
I agree with this.