Starting to Shop Around for a Laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

Miliardo

Prominent
Apr 10, 2017
Hello, good sir or madam. Allow me to preface this thread with the following:
I have little in-depth knowledge about computers or cameras, and some would say I know nothing at all.
My Google-fu is relatively strong, thanks to being a neophyte. So, responses may come slow as I do some research.

I'm starting a business in the next few months, prospectively in the early summer. As part of it, I want to be able to record & edit video and live stream, preferably both in 1080p @ 60fps. And, those fancy numbers right there are about all I really know about computer specs & such w/o research or my memory being jogged significantly. I'm looking for a laptop specifically for the travel advantage; some of the video projects are automotive in nature, and just about all of them require on-site filming. I know I need to get a couple of solid cameras and gear, as well, but that's Step Two. I want to get the laptop squared away first, as it's central to the business.

No budget is set in stone, and no plan survives contact with the enemy, but I am currently putting aside for a $2,500 budget. That number can certainly go up for a worthy machine, but doing so pushes back the date of purchase. I would prefer a 17" laptop, and weight is not an issue. Windows OS is a must. A solid battery life is also a must, as it will need to survive constant cycles of charged-to-drained (and shorter cycles) as well as extended use while plugged into the wall. High-end gaming is something I would like to do, but it isn't a must-have; it's more important that the beast be able to route another machine's feed, say my Xbox One or a co-worker's laptop. However, it does have to be able to run modern games (your CoD's, Battlefields, etc.) at least at middle-of-the-road settings, as part of the business is creating written video game reviews, which will require screenshots. VR is not a requirement.