Two Channel Music + Movie Build for under $5k?

stuccoholmes

Estimable
Oct 3, 2015
I’m still very new to the hi-fi world and a lot of the jargon/technical stuff goes over my head so
please bear with me.

I’ve been looking to upgrade my 7 year old HTIB and TV for awhile, I’ll be getting a Smart TV - 4K 55” in a couple months. I recently also upgraded my turntable but the current system is not able to handle low end that well so I figured I needed to add a sub, but the vintage receiver doesn’t haven’t an out.

I had the idea to try and build a system that could handle 60% music and 40% Movies/TV (maybe even more 70/30). Most of the music will be analog but the girlfriend and I do host and like our bass heavy electronic music as well which is stored on the PC.

I’m leaning towards just keeping a solid two channel system until I move out of my apartment into a bigger space. The current room is L13” x W27” x H8”. The couch will be about 10-12 feet away from the speakers/TV.

Current Turntable Set up:
Rega Planar 3 w/ 2M blue
2x Kef C55s
Vintage luxman receiver

My current home theatre specs aren’t worth noting.

I get an amazing discount on the following brands, so I would like to keep the system to them if possible (other than the sub, I might be leaning towards a sealed SVS)

Naim, Cambridge Audio, Rega, NAD, Totem, Paradigm, Focal, Marantz, Bryston, Denon, Panasonic, Yamaha, Sony,

Would love to keep everything under $5000 CAD if possible. I’m currently thinking something along the lines of:

F/L: Paradigm Prestige 15B paired with a sub or pair of Focal Chorus 726 BS sans sub
Sub: SVS-SB1000

Speaker choice of course affects the rest of budget. Do I go with something like a NAD C368 Integrated amp (with DAC + phono stage). I can’t say I watch many blu-rays, we stream pretty much everything. Or do I go with something like a Marantz 6011 with a Rega fono phono stage to leave upgrade room?

I’m all ears for any advice.

Solution