Solved! UHD: Panasonic GH5 and Panasonic HC-X1: which of them gives a better image quality?

ulixi

Prominent
Jan 7, 2018
Hi, I'm studying these two cameras for UHD videos: Panasonic GH5 and Panasonic HC-X1. I watched many clips on Internet but I still don't understand well. If the both cameras have good settings, which of them gives better results with regard to image quality in open air? I mean better definition, chromatism, saturated colors, etc. etc.
I'd like to get replies only from people who used or are using both cameras.
Thanks

Solution

With "VIDEO" not "PHOTOS" it is harder to see the difference in many ways. The GH5 has the advantage of longer than 29minute videos. The GH5 also has good auto-focus in video (the guys using full-frame use follow-focus devices for smooth manual focus even if the camera has good video AF). And while good video AF speed won't matter to experts, it matters to 99% of the people buying these...

bjornl

Estimable
That depends on how much you spend on peripherals. The HC-x1 is a "tv station" style tool. It is designed to be portable and used in the field. The gh5 (with an appropriate number of add-ons) is designed to be used in studio.

If you want to compare stock vs stock, then the HC-X1 will win most contests because with a decent skill set, the built in controls it offers will give you an advantage.

ulixi

Prominent
Jan 7, 2018
OK, you are right, but usually I like much more the image quality of the camera than videocamera. Therefore we have to compare apples with apples. In your opinion: if you shot in sunny day with a full frame and a GH5, you will get much better image quality in UHD or the difference is difficult to notice? Thanks

bjornl

Estimable

This is quite a different question and made "odd" by limiting the output resolution to uhd.