Why does quality suck when converted to Mpeg?

Grub

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2002
Hello folks...I'm pretty new to Video editing, but I have been reading every article I can on the subject. Right now I'm using VirtualDub to capture with my Leadtek winfastTV 2000 XP. When I capture I don't use any compression. I tried capturing in Huffy but the quality degraded too much. After capture, I play the AVI file and it looks great. However, when I convert it to MPEG for VCD it comes out blocky. It still looks OK, but if you unfocus your eyes on the details of the picture you can see that the video looks like its divided into a large gid of blocks. What is causing this? Is it my compression software (Ulead studio6), or is it something that is inherent to MPEG? Any advice or links would be appreciated.

The only way France is going in is if we tell them we've discovered truffles in Iraq. -Dennis Miller

namek0

Distinguished
Oct 21, 2002
See if you can capture straight to mpeg, if not, I could tell you a few places to go

And I've noticed when I convert an mpeg over 250 megs to avi, I get these nasty horizontal lines that buzz over the screen occasionally. When I get home, I'll see if I can post a link with a modded version of VirtualDub on it

It's all good ^_^

elzt

Distinguished
May 10, 2002
The blocky pictures from VCDs (usually appear when objects in picture are moving) is inherent to MPEG 1. There are some AVI-to-MPG conversion software that let you tweak the settings before doing the conversion in order to get the best quality picture possible. One of the software that I recommend using is TMPGenc.

Goto this link for details:

<A HREF="http://forumz.tomshardware.com/software/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=32713#32713" target="_new">http://forumz.tomshardware.com/software/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=32713#32713</A>

Grub

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2002
Thanks guys...I'll give it a go...