Z-5500

Bermie92

Honorable
Feb 16, 2012
Hello,

I own a z-5500 speakerset. I've owned it for about 4 months now and I never really set the volume very high.

Just today I was on skype with a couple of friends, when suddenly my headphones started crackling really loud and really frequently. All sound dropped, the control pod still works but whatever I do, I can not get sound from my speakerset.

It's now on Input: Optical and it says "No Digital Data". It used to say that, until I started playing something, then it went from No Digital Data to Effect: Digital.

Resetting the pod didn't work, turning the set off and on didn't work, restarting the computer didn't work... it stays on No Digital Data. Direct input mode doesn't work either, and when I plug in my headset into the control pod it doesn't give any sound either. When I check windows the green bars do fill up from the appropriate device.

I've checked all the settings, everything is how it should be, and I still had sound today. It just stopped and went silent after a real loud crackle while on skype.

Does anyone know what just broke?

rexter

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2006
I'm assuming you're using optical cord to connect your z5500. Crackle noice when using an optical connection means two things, software problem or hardware failure. Hopefully not the latter.

Check your sound settings and make sure you selected the proper sound devices and output in your computer. Unplug the optical cord from z5500 and check the center of the pin if there is a red light while your pc is on. If that fail, try to un-install then re-install the sound driver, as you may have a damage driver. Make sure the cord is working and properly connected too. You can also try to connect your headphone to your computer just to make sure soundcard is still working. You'll need to change the setting from digital/optical to speaker ofcourse.