z906 to a computer monitor? xl2420g?

ninjamatt

Estimable
Jun 27, 2015
Hey guys, I'm a bit new to this audio tech. But I'm trying to connect logitech z906 to a computer monitor XL2420G. However I've read that z906 does not support HDMI and xl2420G does not have any optical output. I've been looking at some HDMI to optical converter but I'm lost with all these infos, even after hours of research. I was wondering if someone would help me out in a newbie friendly guide to connect logitech z906 to xl2420g while retaining all the sounds and video quality if possible. Thanks in advance!

Solution
yikes. thats quite a list of numbers you have there :lol: looks like i'll have to break this one down into sections:

---

So basically the PC sends audio/video info to the receiver and the receiver outputs that audio/video info to the speaker and tv/monitors.

**yes, your computer sends a digital audio-video signal via hdmi to the receiver. the receiver then takes the audio portion, converts it to analog, amplifies it and sends it to your speakers (just like a soundcard would do for your pc). at the same time it also lets you push audio-video out the hdmi output to send to your tv or monitor. now you can use a receiver without using video-passthrough but the cabling sure is convenient, especially if you use only one monitor and arent...

ninjamatt

Estimable
Jun 27, 2015
Thanks for the fast replies guys. Due to my lack of knowledge, I forgot that i could connect z906 to my pc. I have another question though which is how do I achieve PCM sounds? I know that if I would go to the z906 route (I haven't bought z906 yet but I do have the xl2420g) i might be wrong but the only thing I could get as close to pcm sound is the compressed dolby digital and I need a dolby digital live soundcard which is exclusive to x-fi cards since the z906 only has optical output and in order to get pcm, I would need to use hdmi. So I was wondering,