Turn On or Off Send Read Receipts in iPhone Running iOS 11

Depending on your life style and profession, you may or may not want your friends or colleagues to know when you’ve read the messages they have sent to you.
Send Read Receipts is a feature in your iPhone which when enabled does exactly the same, i.e. it informs your friends when their messages have been read by you. On the other hand, when the feature is disabled, even if you read their messages, they are not notified about it. As a result, they continue to believe that you haven’t got a chance to go through their texts.
By default the Send Read Receipts feature is disabled, and here’s how it can be enable:
    Get to the Messages window
    Tap Settings > Messages. This opens the Messages window. From here you can manage all the messages related settings on your iPhone.


    Enable Send Read Receipts
    Tap the Send Read Receipts toggle button. This turns on the Send Read Receipts feature (if it is turned off as per the default setting), and your iPhone starts informing the senders when you’ve read their messages.

    Disable Send Read Receipts

Tap the Send Read Receipts toggle button again. This turns off the Send Read Receipts feature (if it is turned on), and your iPhone stops informing the senders that you’ve read their messages.

 

ASK THE COMMUNITY