Acer Aspire One Help

bradut

Honorable
Nov 11, 2012
The other day I went by Walmart and they happened to have a few laptops on sale. Well I've been wanting to buy a laptop for a while and since I finally found one I liked I decided to get it. Since I'm a high school student I went with a notebook, an Acer Aspire One 725-0687 running Windows 8. The notebook runs on a dual-core AMD C70 processor @1ghz with Turbo Core Technology up to 1.333GHZ. It has 2gb of DDR3 ram, a 320 gb HDD, and ATI Radeon Graphics with 863/256?? mb vram. I got this notebook for a final price of $213. (list price was 197)

Now I have a few questions:

1. Is all this worth it?
2. Is there a way to allow the Turbo Core technology to run while on battery?? (currently runs while charging only)
3. In windows properties it says that only 1.7 gb of my ram is useable, why?
4. Would dual booting with windows xp allow me to play games on this system???
5. What Games can i play on this system?

Thanks in advance... I'll respond to any replies...

jasont78

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2009

worth it depends on what you want it to do
turbo core will chew your battery faster and if you wanted fast you should have got a quicker laptop in the begining
256mb is being used by you video card leaving 1.75gb ram
win xp is not really any quicker than win 7
games pffff... solitaire

bradut

Honorable
Nov 11, 2012
Thanks... And about games I've tried a few older games like need for speed underground 2 and halo and they run well... so i tried and call of duty modern warfare and (amazingly) it ran under lowest settings... Apparently this netbook was made with an 80 core graphics processor??

joecole1572

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2008