Adcom 5800 Power Amplifier

Solution
Back in the 80s I wielded a soldering iron more than I ever wanted to and studied this type of thing and never enjoyed it, got away as quick as possible (was in the Air Force) and brought in some guys off the flight line avionics shop - it's beyond me

audiomano

Honorable
Aug 14, 2012

Thank you for your reply.

My request is for the complete power supply section which is not showed in the schematic sent.

Regards,

Audiómano

audiomano

Honorable
Aug 14, 2012

audiomano

Honorable
Aug 14, 2012
Just for your information, I requested twice the schematics to Adcom without success, fortunately I found the complete Service Manual at HiFi Engine for free.

To you, as a Power Supply expert, I will be very glad to ask some questions on ps matters of course if you don`t have any inconvenience on it.

Again thank you for your reply

audiomano

Honorable
Aug 14, 2012

I undestand, but the kind of questions that any audiomaniac makes to himself are more or less as follow:

1.-Is said that the rated voltage of a replacement capacitor should be as close as the original to be replaced, otherwise if you install one with a rated voltage larger than the original chances are that the new capacitor does not last too much due to the electrolyte won`t be enough saturated, shortening its service life. Is this correct?.

2.-I need to replace a 2 pair of 470uF-50v Nichicon Bi-Polar caps. which feed the + - voltage of an LM 391 N-100, IC used as pre-drivers in a Amber series 70 amp. being its real working voltage + - 16 v. I have at hand an almost boutique 1.000uF-100v Non Polar electrolityc caps 2 pair, do you think that in consideration of the above matter does is a good idea to make such replacement?.