Solved! Android One, internal storage full but can't access to clear it

May 28, 2019
I have an Android One phone. I put a bunch of music on the phone, filled up the internal storage.
I then put in a micro SD card, and selected to add this as internal storage (not removable or whatever the other option was).
The phone copied the music to the new card, and failed to delete from the original SD card.
Then the phone created an alias in the file system, pointing the music directory at the new card.

The original (internal hardwired) card is still full, but I can't delete the music folder because I can't access it.

I tried a few of the top rated file manager apps, they only allow access to named folders ("music" is one, but it's aliased to the new storage card), and no direct access to the original internal storage.

I'm a developer, so I am prepared to use ADB or whatever, I just need to know how to gain access to the real underlying internal SD card file system.

The phone isn't rooted, and the root app I tried didn't succeed. Possibly this is not helped because the phone is fully up to date security wise.

Solution
Depending on which version of Android the phone has (and what other changes the manufacturer and the carrier/service provider made to it) you should be able to go into the following and change it back. Some of the wording may be different on your device, but it should be in this location.

1. Go into "Settings" and then "Storage".
  2. Now locate "SD card" in the list.
  3. When you tap that it should allow you to change the card from "Internal" back to "External" storage.

Again, there may be an extra step or two in there. I am not looking at your device, however it should be there.

Once done then the phone should reboot. Just make sure there is nothing on the card at all, as anything on it will not be when it is done as the card...