Best DAC under €200

Tomjoppe28

Honorable
May 7, 2013
Hi i'm kind of new in the audio stuff but i do have some nice equipment. I'd like a dac to add to my speakers for under 200 euro. My speakers are a pair of B&W DM110's and my amplifier for them is a NAD 3400 its from the monitor series. (not much information about it on the internet but it sound really really good) I'd like my dac to have as flat of a frequency response as possible. I mostly listen to rock. I hope this is enough information and that you can help me in my search!

Solution
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Scarlet2i4G2?product_id=%7Bproduct_id%7D&adpos=1o1&creative=93365752201&device=c&matchtype=&network=g&gclid=CjwKEAiA3qXBBRD4_b_V7ZLFsX4SJAB0AtEV2hiJ0BQ455DVY0xkaAj7Yinwk-w8-tTpZUUQRLOP0BoCj1fw_wcB Focusrite is world class DAC, AD / DC AND mic pre. considered the reliable studio work horse. Up there with appogee and avid. RME is another top tier brand. You can find apogee under 200, but the reason they are so liimted in i/o is they dont compromise on chip quality. You'll notice in their line the average i/o configurations you get under 200 elsewhere , costs 3 and 500. The same would be true of RME interfaces, these two companies simply dont use crap chips but you pay through the nose for it.
Frequency response is not a specification that will tell you anything in a DAC. Tube output DACs may not be as flat but any solid state DAC will be ruler flat.
Good inexpensive DACs can be purchased from Cambridge Audio. Schitt, M2Tech, and Meridian. Some will be USB only. Others include ARcam, Audioquest and Musical Fidelity.

Tomjoppe28

Honorable
May 7, 2013

Could you recommend some models and what about m-audio my dad said m-audio was good but it was quite a wile back. Thanks for responding so quickly!

as far as usb models, the schiit modi 2 or modi 2 uber (adds optical input) are excellent. they get paired often with headphones and headphone amps but can be used for 2.0 speaker setups as well.