Best laptop for business/excel/travel madness?

captcrunchwrx

Estimable
Apr 11, 2015
I'm a management consultant that does some moderate lifting in excel from time to time. Typically includes power pivot with data in the millions of rows and some VBA. I'm switching jobs and most of my coworkers have some flavor of the Lenovo T series, which seems like a good choice. I'm weighing my options between the Lenovo T series, the Lenovo X series, the 13" Macbook Pro, and the Microsoft Surface Pro 3. I've got some initial pros/cons of each, but I'd love to hear your thoughts.

Lenovo T series - The Standard choice, is user serviceable so that I can upgrade for a better machine at a lower cost. I like that I can buy a dock for it so I'm not fumbling with a million cords.

Lenovo X series - Seems to have the exact same performance as the T series, but is better for travel for not much more money. Is this correct? I'm willing to pay more for more portability.

Macbook Pro 13" Retina - I would run windows on this, but the Mac side would be nice because the rest of my ecosystem is Apple and I'm happy to continue drinking the Kool Aid. Having a physical location for tech support is also very nice IMO. The lack of a dock kind of sucks.