Can a complete beginner to game developing easily learn how to use CryEngine 5?

ChaoticShadow

Commendable
Mar 19, 2016
I'm new to game developing, although I have a reasonable amount of C++ knowledge. I decided to ditch programming for a while and see if I could develop a game.

I want to jump right into CryEngine because it seems to be very powerful and there are no royalties unlike Unreal Engine 4.

Will I be able to understand and learn easily? How long does it take to understand how to use CryEngine 5?

Thanks!! :) :)

Solution
Why not use UE4 or Blender or Unity too learn the ropes. It takes a lot of work to make a game, unless your ultimate goal is to create the next minecraft I don't see that the royalites should matter. As the way to go about things is different in all of them but generally they are very similiar. You will need to be able to do plenty of different things such as the art side as well as basic coding, etc to create a decent game even 2d games can become complex. Its best if you do so with a team.

I haven't looked but I am sure there are plenty of youtube videos that'll show you the basics and give you a kick start to understanding the program.

SKIPPY PB

Estimable
Jan 9, 2015
Why not use UE4 or Blender or Unity too learn the ropes. It takes a lot of work to make a game, unless your ultimate goal is to create the next minecraft I don't see that the royalites should matter. As the way to go about things is different in all of them but generally they are very similiar. You will need to be able to do plenty of different things such as the art side as well as basic coding, etc to create a decent game even 2d games can become complex. Its best if you do so with a team.

I haven't looked but I am sure there are plenty of youtube videos that'll show you the basics and give you a kick start to understanding the program.

Solution

ashfaq786

Distinguished
May 17, 2011