Choosing between two budget laptops (Asus vs Lenovo)

Dante_12

Prominent
Apr 27, 2017
Good day everyone,

I need your heldI am looking for a replacement for my old laptop (dell inspiron) which recently got it's motherboard fried (long story).

I am a student and will be mainly using it for school projects, internet browsing and multimedia consumption. I don't do gaming but my 8 year old nephew will use in on weekends playing Left4Dead and some casual games and watching youtube (I might also end up giving it to him when I have enough money to buy a more capable laptop, maybe this christmas).Photoshop will also be installed but will rarely be used and only for light editing.

I planned on buying another Dell but I cannot find one with 14-15in screen that I can afford right now.

Anyway, I have found two that's within my budget:

Lenovo IdeaPad 110-14IBR

Processor : Intel Celeron N3160  1.60 GHz Quad-core Processor (2M Cache, up to 2.24 GHz)
Operating System : Windows 10 Home
Memory : 4GB DDR3L 1600
Display : 14-inch HD TN GL (SLIM) Display
Storage : 500GB 5400RPM HDD
Battery : 3 cell
WiFi : WiFi 802.11
LAN : 10/100M
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 4.0
Ports : 1 x USB 3.0, 1 x USB 2.0
Dimensions  : 340 x 245 x 22.9
Weight : 4.4 lbs (2 kg)

Asus A541sa-XX153T

Processor : Intel Dual Core Celeron N3060 1.60GHz 
Operating System : Windows 10
Memory : 4GB DDR4
Display : 15.6" HD 16:9 (1366x768) LED backlit 
Storage : 500GB 5400RPM SATA HDD
Networking : Wi-Fi Integrated 802.11b/g/n, Bluethooth
Interface : 1 x VGA port/Mini D-sub 15-pin for externalmonitor
1 x USB 3.0 port(s) 
1 x USB 2.0 port(s)
1 x USB-C Gen 1 (up to 5 Gbps)
Battery : 3 Cells 36 Whrs Battery
Power Adapter : Plug Type :ø4 (mm)
Output :
19 V DC, 3.42 A, 65 W
Input :
100 -240 V AC, 50/60 Hz universal

Dimensions : 381.4 x 251.5 x 27.6 ~27.6 mm (WxDxH)
Weight : 2 kg

Design-wise, I prefer the Asus one's slim design. Lenovo looks bulkier though it' s smaller in dimension an has smaller screen.