Chromebook Notebook, good for Baby Boomers?

purple buzz

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2008
hi, i was wondering if i should get a Chromebook for my family member who is REALLY bad with computers? he uses his desktop to play games but for internet he usually gets viruses because he doesnt understand which ads to click or not to click on. he sometimes gets tired of his computer and turns it off because of his frustration of not understanding computers.

should i get him a Chromebook for searching the web? is chrome easy to use? cuz i dont like it because i am a tech and like my favorites/bookmarks, file menu, adding files, using usb, etc.. but he doesnt do ANY of that stuff and finds it complicated.

can you install Skype on Chromebook? can you install other stuff that uses the web? anything else i should know? thanks

Solution

You cannot install anything on a Chromebook besides Chrome extensions. Whether there is an extension that works for Facebook's video chat with Chrome, I am unaware, but there are other alternatives to Skype if he's using a Chromebook (Google+ Hangouts, Google Chat, a number of other future extensions using the new ability to connect a computer's camera and mic without extra applications...).

As far as viruses and stuff, it's not likely he'll be as disturbed by the extra bloatware you'd have to install on a regular computer to keep them from screwing up the whole experience, and to restore a Chromebook, you...

unksol

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2011
If he's getting viruses you need to set up the PC correctly. A standard account, malwarebytes pro,ad blocking and MSE would probably take care of it. The only way he's not gonna click on stuff is if it doesn't show up.

If he gets frustrated just browsing the internet I don't see how a different OS is gonna help. If he needs on for some specific stuff set up a start page with everything he needs one click away

losalgen

Honorable
Jul 14, 2012