Solved! Dissapointing 5.1 Surround in Windows 10

ibanezrg82

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2010
Hello, this is my first time using surround sound basically, and with a PC. Please bear with me if I left out some info.

My motherboard is capable of up to 7.1 surround sound. Currently I am trying to use it for 5.1. I have a 5.1 speaker set.
Using Windows 10 Home

Speakers: BeFree Sound 125 Watt 5.1 Surround System
Motherboard: MSI B450M Mortar - MATX

So the speakers are set to 5.1, and I have it configured that way in the sound control panel in Windows.
In configure, all speakers appear to be working properly.

When playing back sound, the sound is crap, tinny and no bass. It appears only the front left and right are being utilized.
I have to switch to stereo 2.1 to get any bass.

UPDATE - Still no solution! One user suggested below that it could be the speaker system but from the reviews I saw, no one complains about this issue. Not sure what is going on here? Or is 5.1 surround just crap quality (pretty new to surround myself)

Really frustrating

Is this because my speakers are sub par? I'm not understanding what the issue is.

Solution
It won't do crap unless whatever you are playing contain surround track. I hope it wasn't utube 'cuz it's all stereo no matter what it says.

I suggest use VLC, where u can verify that indeed whatever playing has a surround track and select that. An actually optical disc dvd/br will do nicely, do make sure over audio setup, dolby/dts is selected.
It won't do crap unless whatever you are playing contain surround track. I hope it wasn't utube 'cuz it's all stereo no matter what it says.

I suggest use VLC, where u can verify that indeed whatever playing has a surround track and select that. An actually optical disc dvd/br will do nicely, do make sure over audio setup, dolby/dts is selected.

Solution

ibanezrg82

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2010

Okay I'll try that. I'll have to use Lenwo BR player because I could never get bluray to work in VLC