How do you write a summation program for 1/n

nonxcarbonx

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2009
I want to run it's summations from 1 to an incredibly large number (as a matter of curiosity) but unfortunately to this point I've only got knowledge about hardware and not programing. How do you go about writing a program that can compute that to say,1 to 10,000,000 via the summation of 1/n (takes a long time on my ti 89 :pt1cable: )

As I said, I've never written code before and I don't know how to run it, but could someone explain? It seems like this one would likely be simple, but I don't know. Thanks.

randomizer

Distinguished
Well what language do you want to use? This is important because some languages (like the one below) will only run on Windows.

Let me make sure I understand exactly what you want to do. 1/1 + 1/2 + 1/3 + 1/4 etc?

If I was going to do it in C# .NET, I'd do something like this:

Code:
int sum = 0;
for (int n = 1; n <= 10000000; n++)
{
      sum = sum + 1/n;
}
Console.Write(sum);

Ignore the line numbers, the forum adds those. There's a bit extra code around that which applies to alost every program run in the console but the code here is the important stuff. If you use Visual Studio the rest is pretty much auto-generated anyway. Different languages will do things differently.

Basically what this code does is declare an integer called "sum" and assign it a value of 0, then it does a loop that starts off by declaring an integer called "n." The loop runs the segment of code inside the braces which adds the value of sum and 1/n together and stores that value back into the memory location where sum is, replacing the original. The loop then tests to see if n is less than or equal to 10,000,000 and if it is it increments n by 1 (n++) and runs the code in the middle again. Once the n <= 10000000 statement is false the loop exits and prints the value of sum to the console window.

nonxcarbonx

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2009