Jun 2, 2016
My Laptop's configuration is as follows:
HP Pavillion G6 2301AX
AMD A8 CPU
Radeon 7670M + 7640G Graphics
8GB DDR3 RAM (2x4GB)
Windows 8
AMD Catalyst 14.1 (dated 18-04-2014)

I've been playing games fairly regularly on my laptop since June, 2013 but starting from the May, 2016 i've been hacing random reboots (with no BSODs) while playing 3D games.On occassion i find that after the reboot one of my RAM cards (top slot) is not being recognised in BIOS or in Windows. Sometimes the computer just freezes while playing harsh buzzing sounds and artifacts appearing on the screen while the input devices become unresponsive (including Caps lock light won't turn on, etc.)

The reboots initially occurred only when playing more demanding 3-D games (Insurgency SHOGUN 2 and War Thunder) and didn't happen while playing Metro Redux, Mount and Blade and Company of Heroes, but nowadays the reboots occur in almost every 3-D game. 2-D games such as Age of Empires II HD, Hearts of Iron II and Rise of Nations Extended do not cause any problems whatsoever. Note that in the course of playing any of these games or at any other time, i have never come across any visible artifacts or other issues aside from the reboots.

I have replaced my RAM, upgrading from 2x2GB to 2x4GB, and although there seemed to be some initial respite from the problem, they have resurfaced yet again recently.
A complete removal and reinstallation of the AMD drivers produced no results.
I have also been monitoring my GPU and CPU temperatures and although the CPU hits 90C and the GPU 80C at times, the reboots occur usually in the temperature range of 60-70C.
I also though this might be a power-supply problem, so i started using an external power-adapter for my Laptop Cooling pad, but that hasn't helped much.

My concern is that the top RAM slot still feels too tight, which is spurred further by the occasionally missing RAM from that slot after reboots.