Factory reset from within android erases stored personal data, but you still can setup the device with any other email account. Reset from recovery mode erases stored personal data and lets you setup the device with only that email account with which it was setup previously. In any case you can recover your photos if your photos were previously set to be backed up from Google Photos to Google Drive. You can recover your Google account from any PC by following any recovery method you have previously set up and then checking your Google Drive. Hope this helps.
I only found out yesterday that EaseUS offers a product that claims to be able to recover files. It might be worth reading their details.
No android version above 4.4 KitKat (with encryption enabled by default) leaves any readable trace that allows recovery of data post resetting. Only custom roms with encryption disabled can be reset with theoretical possibility of recovering data. Your local data are gone. Try to get it back from cloud if exist.