Solved! Laptop suggestions for engineering student in Canada with budget of ~$500 CAD (form is filled)

nashsth

Prominent
Feb 2, 2018
Hello all,

I'm an engineering student in Canada and I current have a Dell inspiron 14z-5423 laptop that I've had from ~may 2013. It's served me well but it's getting old and my screen flickers sometimes, some keys (b,n,?, space, left right and down arrow keys) don't work, it gets fairly warm even when I'm not really doing anything resource intensive, and it's slow. I'm looking for any advice and recommendations for a new laptop.

1. What is your budget?

Ans: $500 Canadian but if necessary, I am willing to extend it to $600. Only as a last resort though!

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?

Ans: 14-15.5 inches

3. What screen resolution do you want?

Ans: I'm fine with whatever resolution my current laptop has.

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?

Ans: A portable one would be ideal. Not sure what "desktop replacement" means -- is it one of those bulky 17.3'' laptops? If so, then definitely a portable one. I want to be able to carry it to my classes.

5. How much battery life do you need?

Ans: Not important since I'll be charging it most of the time

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?

Ans: I don't do much gaming, but when I do game I play "The Long Dark". My current laptop can play it but only in the lowest settings, and even then it overheats in about 10 minutes. I would be happy if I can play the game at medium settings for, say, ~2 hours/week. The minimum requirements for the game is as follows:

Processor: Dual core Intel i5 CPU @ 2GHz+
Memory: 4 GB RAM
Graphics: Intel 4xxx Series w/ 512MB VRAM or better
Storage: 7 GB available space
Sound Card: Any on-board chip will work.

Recommended requirements:
Processor: Intel i7 CPU @ 2.6GHz or higher