Light Gaming/College Laptop

aweil1

Estimable
Jun 4, 2014
Hi Toms Hardware Community,

I'm an incoming freshman looking for a relatively portable (sub 5 pounds) laptop that can handle some gaming for at or under $1500. I'd love any help you can give in my search. Here are my criteria:

1. Weight: Has to be less than 5 pounds so it's not a burden when I have to bring it to class.

2. Screen: Preferably 14" or 13", but I could go up to 15" as long as it's still under 5 lbs.

3. Graphics: Has to have a dedicated GPU, no Intel integrated graphics.

4. Games: Has to play games like Skyrim, Bioshock Inifinite, Far Cry 3 at low/medium settings. I don't mind if it doesn't look absolutely spectacular as long as there's little lag and a solid fps.

5. Brand: I've been looking at mostly Lenovo and MSI. I'd also consider Asus and Dell. I'm looking away from HP and Acer because of concerns over their sturdiness, but would be open to suggestions. One computer I've already found is the Lenovo Y40, which I can get for $829-$1299 with a student discount.

I appreciate any suggestions you have!

-Ari

Solution
Yo - you'll like this.
http://www.xoticpc.com/gigabyte-p34gv2cf2-p-7158.html
this'll run your games on high 1080 or better.
it weighs just over 3.5 lb
it's 14'
has a full IPS Matte screen
its 21mm thin
built in 128GB SSD.
oh and the stock wireless card is great too.
and its $1499 with free shipping to 48 states of the USA.

the brand is gigabyte - they did the auros, and many other laptops as well as loads of other computer components - they aren't muppets

andrewjeon9

Estimable
May 25, 2014
I'd say the MSI GS60 Ghost would be the best choice for you. It is a little more than 4 pounds, has a 15 inch screen, a dedicated GPU, and solid battery life. The only problem is is that it's $1700. I hope thats okay

Yo - you'll like this.
http://www.xoticpc.com/gigabyte-p34gv2cf2-p-7158.html
this'll run your games on high 1080 or better.
it weighs just over 3.5 lb
it's 14'