Looking for entry level DSLR

S7ewie

Estimable
Nov 13, 2014
I'm looking for a fairly beginner dslr. I enjoy photography, I used to use my dads canon a lot. Cant remember what it was but it wasn't cheap haha. I take a lot of photos with my phone and I'd like something more responsive at taking action shots and just a proper camera really..

Obviously I'm not looking for professional level, I'm a complete amateur and don't have that kind of budget anyway. A lot of what I do is take pictures of my girlfriend whilst she rides her horse jumping and competing. So something that can take good quality action pictures without blur and when I hit the button and not 3 seconds after would be great haha. A good burst (not sure if that's technically the correct name) would be very useful too. It is quite important too that it'll be able to record at relatively good quality. I'm not talking 4k. Just like 1080p at 60fps.

A few of the ones I've been look at and around that kind of budget are the Canon 1300D, Nikon 3400D and Sony A58 (though I think that's getting toward the high end, I'd be looking at second hand after that). I would like the ability to use an external microphone if possible though (i get a lot of wind noise through standard ones recording at outdoor shows) so I'm probably more drawn to the Nikon 3300D than the 3400D just because apparently they took that out. Really not fussed about the WiFi/Bluetooth stuff.

I'm just speculating at the moment, to see what comes up. Any suggestions would be great, new or old.

Thanks
Stuart

Solution
I have a Fuji HS10 bridge camera, and a Fuji X-T1 mirrorless.

The difference is quite dramatic. Mainly due to the sensor size.
The APS-C in the X-T1 is literally 15 times larger than the sensor in the HS10 superzoom.
The bridge cameras have the same sensor size as the cheaper £100 point and shoots, but with most of the features of a DSLR.

Having said that...the HS10 bridge camera does take quite good pics.