Solved! Macbook Air V/s Dell: Which Option To Choose?

Sep 29, 2020
Hello everyone,

I'm a working professional who is operating in the field of Accounting and Finance. Alongside this, I'm a student who is enrolled in a Masters's program.

Since the start of the Pandemic, my office and university is operating remotely, and I'm facing a speed-related problem while using zoom or any other software.

So I've decided to change my laptop (Lenovo core i5) with a good performing laptop for office and study-related activities.

I've two options available in my budget and with a slight difference in price but I don't know which option is the best? I'm looking for some expert advise.

1 - MacBook Air - Specs
(13-inch - 2017)
Processor 1.8 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5
Memory 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics 6000

2 - Dell - Specs
(14 FHD IPS Infinity Edge)
Intel Core i5 - Generation 10th
512 GB NVIDIA
Windows 10 64-BIT

TIA. :)

Solution
Are you sure you need a new machine? If your machine uses a mechanical hard drive, I would update it to a solid-state drive (<$100). If you are only running 4GB of RAM, upgrading to 8GB will help if you run multiple applications at the same time. Lastly, I've often noticed dramatic improvements by reinstalling Windows. Do a "clean" install which will erase all your user files and programs but a new laptop would require to reinstall all that stuff anyway. Your statement that you are having speed related problems with Zoom says to me there are issues with your existing machine that are probably fixable. Zoom is not a terribly CPU intensive program. It all depends on your situation with money vs your time. I would start with the reinstall...