Question Trying to choose between Lenovo Ideapad and Dell Inspiron

Status
Not open for further replies.

arya22

Estimable
Jun 16, 2017
I am a student, looking for a budget laptop which is good for programming and potentially working with large datasets (although this isn't as important, as I have access to the lab machines at uni). I also do digital art, so I'm looking for something that can run Photoshop and Illustrator smoothly.

My budget is around £600. There is a bit of a shortage of computers at the moment, so my choice is limited. Right now, I am struggling to choose between
  • Lenovo Ideapad 5 15.6 inch Ryzen 7 8GB RAM 512 GB SSD
  • Dell Inspiron 15 15.6 inch Intel Core i5 8GB RAM, 512 GB SSD
Links to both here:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lenovo-IdeaPad-15-6-Inch-Laptop/dp/B08BJ98X4Q/ref=sr_1_6?dchild=1&keywords=lenovo%2Bideapad%2B5%2B15&qid=1599639282&sr=8-6&th=1
https://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/compu...l-core-i5-512-gb-ssd-silver-10199737-pdt.html

I would also consider other options in the 500-650 GBP price range. I don't intend on doing any gaming. Mostly work and art. I have been looking at Asus Vivobook and Huawei Matebook options as well, though Matebook is out because of the weird camera angle. I am looking for something durable that will last at least a few years (my current Toshiba Satellite is still running after 7 years but it's too slow for what I need). I am flexible with screen sizes. I was considering 14 inch laptops, but I thought I would probably feel more comfortable with a key pad. But if there is some great 14 inch laptop I am missing, please let me know. I would also really appreciate if anyone could explain the differences between the processors of the two laptops above!

Edit: do people find 256GB SSD sufficient? At the moment, I am going for the 512 GB, but I would consider getting something with less SSD space and buying an external hard drive.

Thanks in advance for the help! :))