MSI GT780R Laptop Blue Screens when trying to boot.

357blackhawk

Estimable
Feb 5, 2016
This laptop is an MSI GT780R. I started having this problem a few years back, the laptop just blue screens and resets before I can read what is on it. I am using Windows 7. This happens regardless of how I try to boot up:
Booting into windows 7 (with and without safe mode)
Trying to boot using a windows 7 DVD
Trying to boot off of a USB drive
The recovery option by pressing f3
The windows recovery option

I am an electronics student, so I decided to try and get this thing running again recently. The whole computer is stock except for the hard drives. (I parted out the stock ones a while back and just stuck a single 320GB western digital blue in it to try and get it running.)
The weird thing is, i installed the hard drive and installed windows on it, and it worked just fine for about 45 minutes. Then it started having the same problem that caused me to buy a new computer again.
I figure this might be a hardware issue, so i removed the case and did a visual inspection of components: no obvious damage. I replaced the thermal paste and tried booting again, but no luck.

I am out of ideas, so I came here to see if anybody can help me learn to fix this problem.

Thanks in advance,
357blackhawk

Edit* When i replaced the thermal paste, the old stuff was kind of crusty, but the heat sinks still felt like they were stuck to the GPU and CPU pretty well, so I don't think that I burned either of them out. (Hopefully)

Edit #2* When trying to boot into windows, it gets to the part when the colored dots start to form the windows icon and crashes about half way through. Also, sorry for the long post. Just trying to provide as much accurate information as I can.

hackerk

Estimable
Sep 1, 2014