Old or new generation

OD01

Estimable
Aug 28, 2014
Hi everyone,

I have a question about a notebook that came out in the summer of 2012: an ASUS N56VZ-S4035V-NL. If you want to get specs in english you'll probably have to lose the NL at the end.
I have a budget of max 700 euro's. That's around 900 dollars or 550 pounds, but you can't really compare these because you can get way better hardware in the us for 900 dollars than you can in europe for 700 euro'sor 550 pounds.
The best model I could find in my price range was an HP Pavillion 15-p035nd (699 euro).
A friend of mine won an ASUS N56VZ-S4035V in an auction about 1.5 years ago and has been holding on to it ever since. Never even opened the box, so its brand new, never used. He said I could have it for 550 euros.

My question for you is: If you compare these 2 notebooks, which on comes out on top?

I've done a little research myself, but I'm not an expert in this field. This is what I came up with so far:
cpu: Asus i7 3610QM 4-core beats the HP i5-4210U 2-core even though its from a previous generation processors.
gpu: The performance of Asus's Gt 650m is about the same as the 840M thats in the HP.
Both screens are 1920 x 1080.
Both notebooks have 8gb ram
I don't know how the SSHD 5200rpm compares to the 7200rpm Hdd .
The Asus runs on windows 7 home premium, while the Hp runs on windows 8.1
That is pretty much what I know. Even though the Asus is 2 years old, it still seems pretty good to me, and for 150 euro's less than the newer HP model I think its worth considering. What do you think?

Thanks in advance!

G

"cpu: Asus i7 3610QM 4-core beats the HP i5-4210U 2-core even though its from a previous generation processors."

i7 is newer than i5, what made you think i5 was newer? Anyway, the i7 has higher clock speed/frequency and double the cores.

"gpu: The performance of Asus's Gt 650m is about the same as the 840M thats in the HP."