Pioneer AVR recommendation

zolakt

Estimable
Feb 24, 2015
Hi,
I'm buying a new AVR.
I can get a good deal on these Pioneer devices, so I'm trying to figure out which one fits my needs (I'm not an AV expert):

- VSX-528
- VSX-824
- VSX-828
- VSX-924

You can click the links to open back panel images.

Basically, these are my requirements:
- HDMI input/output (with ARC if possible)
- HDMI-CEC support
- wireless/bluetooth connection so it can be controlled with a smartphone app
- wireless/bluetooth connection so it can play from remote devices
- it has to have 2 zones, connected like this:
- zone 1 - connected to 5.1 home theater speakers
- zone 2 - connected to 2.1 active PC speakers (in another room)

The last point is my biggest problem.
I want to reuse my old 2.1 PC speakers. They are connected to a subwoofer with build in amp. The only wire I have coming out of the subwoofer is a 3.5mm jack.

As far as I can see, the 528 & 824, don't support Zone2.
The 828 does support it, but I don't know how to connect my speakers. It has inputs for passive speakers, but how to connect my active ones? There are no Zone2 pre out. Can it be connected only with the subwoofer pre out? It if can, why not do the same with the 528 or 824 amps? What difference would it make?

The last one, 924 does seem to have all I need, pre outs, zone 2 pre outs... but as expected it is the priciest of the bunch.

Feel free to elaborate on any other differences... like a said I'm not an AV expert..
For example is the built in WiFi crucial for the smartphone app, or can it work if the AVR is connected with Ethernet?
What is the use of a second HDMI (HDZONE) out, what is HDZONE anyway?

Basically, can the 828 (or lower) fulfill all of my requirements?
If not, 924 seems like the only option.
Even if the 828 does it all, is the 924 worth another 100$ extra?

Solution