Questions, Questions and more questions -. - newbie here...

holl0w

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2010
Hi everyone. Firstly, I would like to thanks you for coming and take a look at the thread and please bear with me if you find that I post some real stupid questions.

no.1) Do you recommend using laptop on the laptop sleeve itself and act like some sort of cushion? Cause I thought that it might actually helps to trap heat and therefore isn't good for the laptop.
no.2) When your laptop battery is already 100% and yet you run on AC adapter will it actually lessen the battery life of the laptop? (I heard some laptop that will automatically stop charging the battery and let the laptop run on adapter and prevent "harming" the battery itself)
no.3) There are cooling mat and fans. Is cooling mat more for using in air-conditioned room? or both are equally effective in cooling the laptop? Btw, do you think its always a good habit to have a cooling fans? If so, do recommend me some
no.4) If there are data that I save in my hard disk drive which I doesn't want anyone to have access to, and which I set a password in the log in page to prevent people from accessing my files. Will people gain access to the files by simply removing the hard disk itself and connect it to another computer?
no.5) Is there currently any software where I can actually use my USB drives as a "key" to unlock my purposely locked "computer".
no.6) If I have lost my laptop (either by stolen or misplacing), Is there anything I do so that I know the location of my laptop? (either by configuring it to like... passively sending some data to the internet)

Thanks everyone for taking the time to answer my doubts. :)

1) laptop sleeve? Not sure what you mean. Do you mean a cooling pad?

2) Yes, it can reduce your battery life. If the battery is charged and you don't need it, just pull it out and run it off the wall outlet. You won't harm anything.