Smartphones Could Take the Place of Your Therapist

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I'm all for people not suffering and being healthier in general, but as a Psychologist, I'm insulted that my work is compared to such a shallow set of by-the-book reactions.

EDVINASM

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2011
I was just thinking over weekend while was Googling for information. Used to go to friends and library etc. to get the same info. At least some interaction with people. Now you don't need anyone, just Google the things you need and buy online. And now even therapy session is via AI? Close yourself between 4 walls and live that way.. Sad..

G

Edvinasm you are dead right about that! As a Therapist I have to say I spend most of my time looking at "relationship" as a process with my clients. Another major part is empowering people to take their own responsibility for their live....having a app to take over this responsibility should increase our workload no end.

house70

Distinguished
Apr 21, 2010
This is dumb. Never gonna happen. It's just an application that monitors how much time you spend in one place. What's next, make it call the authorities and get you committed if you do spend too much time in one place? This is so simplistic and ridiculous, I am embarrassed that a School of Medicine (be it a mediocre one) came up with that thing.

assasin32

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2008
Therapy: Theres an App for that.

[citation][nom]amdfangirl[/nom]You: "I need a therapist"Siri "Here's an app"You "Why is it called HAL?"[/citation]

GLaDOS: This was a triumph! I'm making a note here: Huge Success.

d-isdumb

Honorable
Feb 11, 2012
While I agree some jobs have great use for cell phones I don't carry a cell phone and don't plan on getting one. Leave a message on my home phone and I will get back to you. Being tied down to a digital leash, tracking device is not my idea of being hip or even productive. Don't get started about Facebook.

alidan

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2009