Sony Receiver : TV Input not recognized, TV sound wont play via HDMI ARC.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mave07

Prominent
Mar 1, 2017
Hi, I wrote this to the Sony forum/ but found no solution, so asking here in case anyone could help please!

I am totally new to this home theatre ecosystem and recently set up my 5.1 surround with a Sony STR-DH550 receiver. I currently have my satellite box, PS3 and laptop connected to the HDMI IN ports of the receiver. The TV (Sony Bravia) is connected via the HDMI 2 (ARC) port of the TV to the HDMI (ARC) OUT port of the receiver.

Everything works fine and I can pick and choose/switch among all inputs mentioned above apart from the one listed as "TV" in the receiver remote. I currenty have a OTA antenna connected to the TV to watch some basic programs so I assumed whenever I pick "TV" from my receiver remote, it would switch to the TV and start playing that automatically, isnt that so? Please correct my understanding if I am wrong! Pressing the TV option in the receiver remote does not do anything, the screen just stays at where it is. The only way to achieve this right now is pick up the TV remote instead and switch the input from HDMI2 (receiver is connected here) to TV.

Also, TV apps like NETFLIX/YOUTUBE do not play sound via my home theatre speakers unless I connect an optical cable, I thought the HDMI ARC port was supposed to take care of this, so what am I missing?

And yes - the 'control for hdmi' is set to ON in the receiver in case it matters.

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks a lot!

mave07

Prominent
Mar 1, 2017
Thanks, but then since there is neither a tuner built in the receiver nor "co-ax antennae" input at the back of the receiver, so guess the OTA antennae can only go behind the TV, which makes sense.